• Home
  • Information Security Certificate Degree

Information Security and Assurance Certificate

The graduate Certificate in Information Security and Assurance (ISA) is a 12-credit graduate-level certificate designed to provide advanced knowledge of information security concepts, governance, fundamental and emerging technologies in network security and computer systems security, as well as proficiency in security policies, procedures, risk management and audit. The purpose of this graduate certificate is to offer a practitioner-oriented credential in the information security area to students who are seeking an opportunity for more focused study.

The Graduate Certificate in Information Security and Assurance requires the completion of three core courses and one elective course at a total of 12 credit hours from the following courses:

Core Courses (3 courses, 9 credit hours)

EECS 710: Information Security and Assurance
EECS 711: Security Management and Audit
EECS 712: Network Security and its Application

Elective Courses (one of the following courses)

EECS 780: Communication Networks
EECS 811: IT Project Management

To see a brief description of each course, please visit the MSIT website.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today